For my first book … a vortex of emotions and ants in my stomach!

I should be over the moon, and I am! Mostly, I am…
I should be celebrating this moment of my life, a great publishing company, my first poetry book (everyone is telling me how hard it is to be published above all in poetry…) I know I am blessed! BUT then that feeling in my stomach… butterflies? Not really! More like an infinite group of small ants, going up and down, continuously, I thought I could feel them in my throat just a few hours ago!
Anxious & stressed, I try to forget about the ants and I imagine how wonderful it will be to share my verses, feeling complete communion with other souls that I will probably never meet in person…
For a few minutes it all looks clear, limpid, magic! And then those ants again having a party in my belly!!! I drink water, cold one thinking maybe they will stop moving, traumatized by chills BUT nothing works, hot tea, milk, coffee… I tried wine as well, of course, not a good choice for “ants in the stomach” syndrome!
Sometimes my thoughts get so “active”… I feel like a vortex of emotions inside… mixing pure air and toxic waves of fumes!
Then I think again and words flow like a river, reaching the calm sea, peace follows, I am not restless anymore and that vortex becomes a gentle breeze. Words save me every time, just like now.

2 thoughts on “For my first book … a vortex of emotions and ants in my stomach!”

  1. “…and words flow like a river, reaching the calm sea, peace follows, …Words save me every time, just like now.”

    If this be your prose, then I MUST read your poetry. Wonderful imagery, and fun (to read, perhaps not experience) too.

  2. Ants, thoughts, water. . . oh my!

    🙂

    It’s all part of the experience and I’m sure you are enjoying every second of it – as you should. And being nervous, excited, worried. . . it just proves that you have true emotions in yourself and as long as you let those emotions take control in your book, you will be VERY sucessful.

    And by the way – any work you have posted that I have read shows great emotions so you’ll do fine.

    AND I linked up your site to my new blog. . . it’s right on the left side waiting for the world to CLICK CLICK CLICK!

    writersnwriters.blogspot.com

    Jim

Leave a Reply

