In the storm

This poem is included in the Anthology  “Every Child is entitled to Innocence”   

Supporting  Child Helpline International 

Photo By Anna Simi © All rights reserved 

In The Storm

by LauraLME © 

I shall cry, silent like a blanket,

for you, my Joy, not to see my tears

I shall sing melodies of hope,

for you, not to hear the lament,

of my soul echoing prayers of peace.

I will hold you,

shivering without tremors,

for you, to feel my strength and not my fears.

I will caress your hair,

blowing wind of serenity,

burying my torment in expanses of flowers.

I shall see with your eyes of wonder,

share the mysteries of life,

coloring with dreams the darkness of my secret pain.

I will stand fierce and solid,

for you not to taste the liquid poison sprinkling my heart.

I will give you blue skies and hidden rainbows,

rocking the clouds to sleep.

Your little hands I shall kiss

with light lips of tenderness,

to ease the heavy weight of our shadows.

I will keep you from falling

in my deep endless precipice,

protecting you from the storm

and the cold black night of my being,

where you are my only light,

my saviour,

the blessing reason of my existence.


Published by: lauralme

@LauraLME founder of @VersesInMotion Digital Transformation Professional, Author, poet, spoken word recording artist (#PoeticBeatz) ~ Emerging Technologies/Augmented Reality Media Writer @VIMMedia @DigitalDotWorld Creator/writer/producer/co-host of VIM radio show http://lauralme.me http://versesinmotionmedia.com http://metrorec.net www.facebook.com/versesinmotion

Categories Free Verses, Heart's prophecies, music, Poetry2 Comments

2 thoughts on “In the storm”

  1. This poem takes you inside, deep inside to your very soul and reveals the beauty and inner pain of an adult and parent. I love it more than I can say. Thank you Laura.

Leave a Reply

